School Improvement Team

Fairview's School Improvement Team FAQ

Q: What is the School Improvement Team?

A: School Improvement Teams are required by North Carolina law. The team is comprised of the principal of each school, representatives of the assistant principals, instructional personnel, instructional support personnel, and teacher assistants assigned to the school building, and parents of children enrolled in the school. The representatives are elected by their respective groups. At Fairview, parent representatives are elected by our PTA.

The General Assembly of North Carolina views parental involvement as a critical component of school success and positive student achievement. It is the intent of NC that parents, along with teachers, have a substantial role in developing school improvement plans. [NC General Statutes �115C-105.27]. Buncombe County Schools encourage and endorse shared decision making as evident in our mission statement, Core Values and various policy directives.

Q: When does the School Improvement Team meet and can I attend the meeting?

A: School Improvement Teams are considered a public body and are subject to open meeting laws. Staff, parents and community members are always welcome to attend and observe the meetings. Meetings are held in the Data Room at 3:00. Meeting days are usually the third Thursday of each month, but this may vary due to a number of factors. See the website calendar for the meeting schedule.

Q: How do I communicate a suggestion for school improvement to the group?
 
A: You may communicate directly with an individual on the team or send a request to the entire committee. The members’ names and contact information are listed below.
 
Q: How can I nominate someone to be a parent representative on the School Improvement Team?
 
A: The PTA conducts elections for the parent representatives for the School Improvement Team each year. They open up nominations during the spring to all parents of students who attend Fairview. This will be advertised on the School website, through a flyer sent home with each student and on a School Messenger phone message to all parents. Elections will be held in the spring (typically April or May) during the PTA meeting which follows the Volunteer Breakfast. 
 
2016-2017 School Improvement Team Members:
Chairperson: April Barton (april.barton@bcsemail.org) 
Co-Chairperson: Allison Livingston (allison.livingston@bcsemail.org)
Principal: Jennifer Reed (jennifer.reed@bcsemail.org)
Assistant Principal: Jamie Slagle (jamie.slagle@bcsemail.org)
Title 1 Reading Specialist: Debbie Wood (debora.wood@bcsemail.org)- appointed
Curriculum Coach and Intervention Specialist: Christen Davidson (christen.davidson@bcsemail.org)
Media Coordinator: Karen Yutzy (karen.yutzy@bcsemail.org)- appointed
School Counselor: Katie Jenkins (kathryn.wohlford@bcsemail.org)- appointed
Special Education: Kayren McKnight (pkayren.mcknight@bcsemail.org)- elected spring, 2015
Teacher Assistant: Ann Denton (ann.denton@bcsemail.org)- elected spring, 2016
Kindergarten: April Barton (april.barton@bcsemail.org)- elected spring, 2015
First Grade: Tammy Harris (tammy.harris@bcsemail.org)- elected spring, 2016
Second Grade: Jennifer Gortney (jennifer.gortney@bcsemail.org)- elected spring, 2015
Third Grade: Allison Livingston (allison.livingston@bcsemail.org)- elected spring, 2016
Fourth Grade: Natalie Baldwin (natalie.baldwin@bcsemail.org)- elected spring, 2015
Fifth Grade: Jennifer Tatum (jennifer.tatum@bcsemail.org)- elected spring, 2016
Parent Representative: Molly Sherrill (molls@manualww.com)- 1st term, elected spring, 2015
Parent Representative: Shannon Cripe- (shanniec8@gmail.com) 1st term, elected spring, 2016
Parent Representative: Caroline Caton- (carolineecaton@gmail.com)- 1st term, elected spring, 2015
Parent Representative: Rob Young- (r2young66@gmail.com)- 1st term, elected spring, 2016

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.